a one-place study

For further information contact


Published by Halliwell OPS 2018

Historically, Halliwell was seen as being part of Lancashire and once formed a self-governing township in the ancient parish of Deane.The parish of Deane was created by "letters patent" in 1541 and was one of 4 parishes within the Hundred of Salford.

Places within the study area include:

Barrow Bridge, Deane, Doffcocker, Halliwell, Heaton, Shepton and Smithills.